As all of you know, and for those of you who don’t know, I have spent a great deal of time traveling over the last several years. Because of my experience, I want to let you know about my travels (one in particular) and why you should consider a trip somewhere too!

IMG_1341

Some of the peeps from Africa

Over the past couple of years I have been to three countries outside of the United States. They include Kenya, Brazil, and Turkey. Each of my trips had a different focus in mind behind them and for the record, I loved all three of the countries I visited! Each one of them stands out in their own sense but I’ll save that for another day.

The one trip I wanted to focus on in particular was my third trip outside the country which was Turkey. Some of you people are now beginning to think I’m crazy because of what they’ve seen on the news but I’ll let you know that the news and media is not all it’s cracked up to be. Turkey does have some very dangerous parts but so do all countries including America. So obviously that was not too big of an issue and being in Turkey was great (BTW shout out to my boy Ciro Castro who helped make it happen)! I loved the people there and they showed love for me. The crazy part about it is that a lot of the people I came in contact with didn’t speak any English and I was very limited with my Turkish vocabulary to say the least. In short, connection with people comes through more ways than just words.

For example, I spent a great deal of my time playing on my friends amateur soccer team. Very few of the players spoke any English, yet by the time I left, I think both sides were missing each other. Even now I could honestly say that I would be excited to go see a lot of the players that I played with. This to say though, it would definitely be helpful to spend some time teaching yourself the language before you go anywhere outside the U.S. There are a ton of free apps in the app store that make it easier to learn.11903735_10153394207085219_8249673382577231780_n

Beyond the connections and the people I encountered on my trip, there was so much more that made it worth it. I got to eat Turkish food, which for the record is actually pretty amazing! I got to explore a little bit as well and see what Turkey really looks like. The way of life over there is just so much different than America but at the same time incredibly unique.

Beyond all the amazing things that I experienced in Turkey, I also experienced frustration. Frustration in the fact that walking around in a completely different way of life was difficult for me. It challenged me to start learning parts of the language and the social customs that were acceptable and not acceptable (Looking up social customs before the trip is really beneficial). Being in Turkey for the time challenged me to step outside of the box. But this challenged helped me grow.

To make a long story short, my trips to Turkey, Kenya, and Brazil we’re all amazing. They’re all reasons why traveling can be fun. I’m here to tell you that you might want to consider traveling too and for the reasons I talked about above. Being in another culture is so unique. To have the chance to meet people from other walks of life and hear their stories is something that has incredible value. Not only that but you have the chance to make life long friends with people from other cultures! Being in another culture can help you gain perspective on the blessings that you have in your own life as well. Also, who doesn’t love food? Because if you love food you should be dying at possibility of a delectable foreign dish. My last point for you is that there are some incredible creations from God himself that you must experience. There are incredible sites all over the world that are just waiting for you to experience them. When I was in Kenya I went on a safari and saw one of the natural wonders of the world known as the great migration. You could see something like this too but the choice is yours.

IMG_1098

Actual photo of mine (Great Migration)

 

All in all to say the reason you should consider traveling is because it’s pretty cool!

2 thoughts on “Why you should travel outside of the U.S.

  1. Kellie T :) says:

    Yes yes and yes! I totally agree that although its nice to share a language, deeo connections can sometimes be made with very few words. And i love how you refer to other cultures as “unique”. I think sometimes the tendency can be to view that which we don’t understand as “wrong”. Perhaps out of fear. Instead we can view other culturws as different. And interesting. And special. Love this post. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Troy!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely. It’s crazy how a connection with somebody can be made without even speaking a word! Thanks for the thoughts Kellie!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Street Biter

Sharing Moments, Emotions & Feelings – expressed in Pictures.

Life As It Comes

Experiences make the difference

Actively Dying

by Peter Fall Ranger

Food - Fit - Fun

A Blog about Healthy Living

