What’s more important, money or passion? As I got thinking today about some of the world’s most complex problems and the way they relate to my life, I could not help but analyze this one. Sometimes we over analyze the claim that we should do the things we are most passionate about, but sometimes we also under analyze it. For people who think like me they will automatically say “of course you should do the things you are most passionate about”. Often times, when it comes to money and our passions, it is not that simple.

What if your life becomes compromised because of something that you have become obsessed with? You become so passionate about a gift of yours or what you feel could be a calling that the cash that runs your life dries up. Whether we want to face this reality or not, money is incredibly important in the life that we live. Sometimes life doesn’t allow us to pursue the things we love.

nf-therapy-session-cover

Via rapzilla

I often think about the incredible success stories of people who went from having no money to instant success. When I think of this, I also think about one of my favorite hip hop artists that goes by the name “NF”. In one of the songs he referenced himself making only $9,000 one year, but that did not keep him from pursuing a life as a rapper. Now, he is getting a ton of recognition and is on the top of the iTunes charts (By the way I literally mean top of the charts). But will this be the same case for all of us? Will money and passion just magically collide from seemingly different worlds?

Maybe if we have enough perseverance. Maybe if we work hard enough. Just maybe, if we put in enough hours and grind it out giving it our everything, all will work out for the better. Maybe if we watch one more motivational video on success we will be one step closer to our destiny. Maybe not.

I hate to be cynical but sometimes things just don’t pan out. I will say one thing. If you have a passion or a gift that you want to pursue, I say go after it. At some point maybe you will have to settle for the money because your funds are drying up and that’s okay. We live in an imperfect world so how could we possibly expect our dreams to come true every time? There is one thing I know I will continue to do. I will continue to do the best I can at the things that I love to do. I will continue to work hard and stay motivated. Most importantly, I will continue to enjoy the aspects of life that make it worth while. I will continue to live my life with character and integrity even when things don’t go the right way. I pray you do the same.

I love to hear from you guys so comments are greatly appreciated! If this helped you in any way or you can relate just leave a comment down below.

“There is always inequality in life. Some men are killed in a war and some men are wounded and some men never leave the country. Life is unfair.”
-John F. Kennedy

*Featured photo taken by DinasaursAreNotDead via Flickr

4 thoughts on “Money or Passion

  1. If someone tells you that money is not important, run! I believe that money is such an important tool. In this world, we need money to put a shelter on top of our heads, food on the table, keep our health in check, etc. What I like to remember is that I own money and that money does not own me. It’s when we start living for money that I think we go astray.

    In terms of passion, I think we should find it and live it. However, I don’t think we should dismiss money or say that money will come after you find your passion. That’s just foolish and a little too idealistic for my taste. Rather, I think we should use money as how it is – a tool to get where we want to be.

    Great post and an even better reminder to ask ourselves why we live the way we live.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I totally agree that we go astray when we start living for money only. I think it’s a comparison that is constant in the minds of a lot of people. Thanks dude!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sparkyjen says:

    Yes! Live life with integrity and character. This, in my opinion is the highest and best we can ever hope to do. There are more riches in this life that can’t be attained with money than with money. I’d prefer to be all I can be with what I have to work with right now. If I then decided to use this talent to make a couple of bucks, OK! I’m not sure I would enjoy all the money if I had less of what makes life worthwhile. Would I know it if I were rolling in the dough? That’s a question for another life; especially since I’m retired doing what I really love…volunteer work!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly, riches in this life are more than money! Although money is nice I don’t believe that it can ever truly bring you happiness. Glad you’re doing what you love! God bless.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Street Biter

Sharing Moments, Emotions & Feelings – expressed in Pictures.

Life As It Comes

Experiences make the difference

Actively Dying

by Peter Fall Ranger

Food - Fit - Fun

A Blog about Healthy Living

