Have you ever walked into a room and felt belittled to the point that you felt insignificant? Maybe belittling came in the form of talk, but maybe it came in the form of silence. Maybe you had walked into that room with little to no confidence at all and so the lack of acknowledgement from others only further confirmed what you were thinking.

Maybe your story is a bit different than the one that I mentioned above. Instead of lacking confidence, you walked into a room full of it. You already know who you are but nobody else seems to know, and if they do, they don’t want to recognize it or have anyone else recognize it.

Whether you have all the confidence in the world or have no confidence at all, the world is trying to suppress you. The world is trying to tell you that you are insignificant with no purpose, talent, or gift to show. They look at you as if you are this worthless being. There are multiple reasons why people want to see you as insignificant. A lot of times, your view of insignificance in their eyes is only a reflection of how they view themselves. Other times, people harbor jealousy, bitterness, and envy towards you because they see your gifts and talents. These same people know you have the ability to hold a higher platform in life but refuse to acknowledge this and further label you as insignificant and worthless. Others maintain the mindset of ignorance. Their confidence has overshadowed their humility and ability to see past themselves, therefore they see right through you. Other times, it just happens. The world looks past you for no reason at all without bad intentions.

Sometimes, it feels like the whole world sees right through you. You might feel invisible to the world at times. You may ask yourself why nobody ever takes the time to pay attention or notice you. You may ask yourself in times of success why nobody took the time to congratulate you. I understand, it can get frustrating to deal with the world. It can be a constant struggle, but it doesn’t have to be.

Elephant in the room

Photo Via GoogleImages

Do you want to know why? Because you are not insignificant. You’re the elephant in the room. I ask of you this: change your perspective. God made you with purpose and talent. Why do I ask you to change your perspective? I ask this because nobody else will ever change your perspective for you. If you are waiting for peoples perspective to be changed without first changing yours, you are indeed fighting a losing battle. Someone who believes in their purpose and mission is powerful. So have confidence in yourself and who you are. I said it and I’ll say it again, you ARE the elephant in the room.

So what does it mean to be the elephant in the room? It means that everyone is forced to notice you. Everyone in the room is forced to acknowledge your existence. At one point in time you were small, but now your existence is big. Nobody is going to fail to see an elephant in the room because that would be ridiculous. The elephant in the room can never be avoided and at times may cause controversy because it stands for something bigger. The elephant in the room also now has a greater responsibility as its platform has grown. At one point in time, you walked into a room as a spectator, but now you walk into a room as the main act.

But there is a catch to this whole thing. Becoming the elephant in the room takes some work. It starts with yourself. How could you ever consider investing in the world until you have invested in yourself? So look at it like this: start by having confidence and embracing the person you are. Automatically people will start to recognize this. Next, start figuring out what you are good at. As you figure this out, it gives you the ability to experiment with different ideas. Once you have an idea of something you could do, run with it. Sometimes, you’ll have an idea and you will spend hours, days, or even months on it for it to not work out. Don’t be discouraged by this. It is only the beginning. Failure is not something for the weak but rather something for the strong. As you begin to invest in yourself and experiment, you will see the true you.

I have been doing this for the past few years and I can tell you that I love it. I love people that doubt me because it gives me incentive. I never allow outsiders opinions or thoughts to persuade me of who I really am and my mission in life. At the end of the day, I will talk about my faith, I will point them to the most high, I will use the talents and gifts that God gave me, I will do the things I want to do, I will share an opinion on a matter that tugs on my heart, I will have confidence in myself, and I will experiment with goals in my life. All of this to say that you can do the same things. I am the elephant in the room and so are you. So take this time to acknowledge the true you. You have a value, purpose, gifts, and goals for a reason.

Enough talking, now go do.

*Featured Photo Via GoogleImages

One thought on “The Elephant In The Room

  1. heenarebel says:

    What an amazing way to motivate people to discover and find their true personalities.
    Thank you for encouraging people like me who sometimes starts feeling like an ant in a room.
    For making me realise that “I am actually an Elephant.” It gives me a ray of sunshine 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Street Biter

Sharing Moments, Emotions & Feelings – expressed in Pictures.

Life As It Comes

Experiences make the difference

Actively Dying

by Peter Fall Ranger

Food - Fit - Fun

A Blog about Healthy Living

